Nowadays, more and more people becoming overweight. Some people think that the solution is to increase the price of fattening food. To what extent do you agree?

Fattening food consumers are becoming obese because they abuse it. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the expense of this kind of food. From my personal stance, I believe that it is impossible to conduct this plan for the following reasons.

First and foremost, increasing the price of the product containing too much fat is controversial. Ingredients to cook fattening food such as butter, eggs, oil are economical because it takes a short time to produce them. Therefore, raising the cost of this kind of food suddenly is hard for clients to sympathize with.

The second reason why increasing the expense of this unhealthy food is inefficient is that it means cutting down on the source of a convenient kind of food for busy employees. Most fattening food is junk food which is the best choice for all workers because it saves time and money and supplies a large amount of calories for them. Implementing that idea means they have to find other less convenient food. According to statistics about revenue of McDonald’s, turnover of this incorporation at the first six months of the year 2024 increased nearly 14% to the same time in the previous year and the main customers of it are workers. This data has emphasized the inefficiency of this idea.

Equally important is that this solution is not sole and the most effective. When raising the price of this food, incomes of laborers also enhance. Therefore, they can afford it. Another solution which needs consideration is raising consumer’s awareness about the detrimental influence of this unhealthy food by organizing campaigns and workshops to propagate. We can also solve this issue by replacing fat with organic.

In conclusion, I am convinced that increasing the price of fattening food is inefficient to solve the overweight status of consumers. Therefore, they should acknowledge downsides of fattening food and eat just enough.