Nowadays, more and more women decide to have children later in their life? Why? Does the advantage or disadvantage?

One of the major concerns of 21st century, which is becoming increasingly common among couples, is postponing parenthood until a later stage in life. The principal advantages of such growing trend include an opportunity to spend more time with your partner. Moreover, delaying the parenthood allows couple to focus on self development and establish a strong financial foundation for the future family. While there are significant advantages, the disadvantages of this phenomenon such as considerable age gap between future child and parents and possibility of divorces must be considered.

The major benefits of having a baby later are an opportunity to grow financially and personally and having less responsibility in couple’s lives. In order to establish a financial stability faster, both partners should join the efforts, and free of caring about the child women can use her free time to work and earn money for the family’s budget. Furthermore, giving birth to the child later is about lack of personal time for various activities. For example, later parenthood would allow the couple enjoy their youth by traveling together to see the world, however, looking after a child requires time and responsibility and can become a real obstacle in order to do this.

The major drawbacks of temporary childfree lifestyle as a possible big age gap and risk of divorce should not be ignored. Big age gap between future child and parents may lead to misunderstandings in many aspects of life, and the smaller the age gap, the stronger bonds between parent and child are. Also, the marriage could be at risk of crushing, because children tend to strengthen the couple’s relationship and brighten their routine. According to statistics of Kyrgyzstan, divorces of couples without children occur more often, than with them, which leads to a verdict that having children actually may save a marriage.

In conclusion, while there are some clear advantages of delayed parenthood like establishing a strong financial foundation or traveling opportunities, certain disadvantages such as different views on life of a child and parents and the threat of divorce may appear.