Nowadays more people have consumer goods like refrigerators and washing machines. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many people own consumer goods like fridges and washing machines in the present. Considering advantages, such as less physical labor and time-saving, I think this is a positive development.

Thanks to consumer goods, people have to work less compared to the past. People who lived in the past and did not have these goods worked hard during the day. They did daily chores, and unfortunately, there was no machine to help them. However, modern people have consumer goods that make their lives easier. There is no need to wash all plates and cutleries by hand; instead, a washing machine can complete this task. Furthermore, individuals can save their energy and use it for different purposes. Completing all home duties requires a huge amount of energy; as a consequence, the help of consumer goods can be a life changer. For example, most women report that they are less tired during the day after purchasing washing machines.

Moreover, using consumer goods instead of manual labor saves time as well. Human beings cannot work continuously, and working non-stop can decrease efficiency. In contrast, machines are able to work non-stop without any complaints or tiredness. As a result, people can benefit from this partnership and save time. Nowadays, more and more people try to spend their time with their family and strengthen their bonds. Consequently, these goods help them to achieve this aim. They start to work with one click and finish chores in a few minutes. For instance, many women who are mothers say that they connect with their children on a deeper level while playing with them, and they buy a significant number of consumer goods to have more free time.

In conclusion, in my opinion, the development of consumer goods is positive because of less required physical power and more leisure time.