Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

At present, student’s inclination towards studying science related topics has witnessed a downfall in the universities in many nations. Many factors have contributed to this trend, and it may have detrimental effects on the society.

To commence with the reasons of not opting for science subjects, firstly, attaining desired scores in the field of science is a daunting task for many pupils as rigorous practice is required for cracking entrance exams in such discipline. Secondly, students are unable to endure the stress caused by fierce competition and societal pressure. To exemplify, in India, one third of science students have suicidal thoughts owing to excessive load given by parents to own the title of a doctor or a scientist. Another reason could be the lucrative salaries earned by people studying business management and engineering subjects as well. For instance, Indra Nooyi, Chief executive officer of renowned company like PepsiCo, studied business at school.

Turning towards the negative effects of leaving science subjects, firstly, there can be scarcity of science professionals and the chances of finding the breakthrough in medical and other fields would reduce and people might have to wait longer for getting the adequate treatment which can result into severe health issues. For instance, in Canada, waiting period to receive the treatment for illnesses like kidney stones, is three to six months due to shortage of health professionals. Moreover, science-related industries play a crucial role in the economic development and shortage of scientists could hinder innovation and growth.

To conclude, though taking business subjects can be advantageous for individuals, entering the science field would bring fruitful results for people and the society as well. So, authorities must take initiatives to encourage students for taking science discipline.