Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

It is true that many graduate students are no longer interested in science subjects in many countries because a science major requires time, effort, and commitment to pursue the degree, and most university students choose to study an easier major that has rapid career growth and a high salary upon employment. I believe a lack of scientists would impact the countries’ economics and healthcare systems.

One of the primary reasons is that science subjects are difficult. Students pursuing science often need several years of study, followed by postgraduate training and research publication before they can establish themselves as professionals. By contrast, fields such as marketing, business, and finance typically require less time to complete, and often provide a wide range of job opportunities. Science students often experience high stress levels and repeated research setbacks, which can gradually reduce their motivation. Compared to business students, they are more likely to acquire professional skills within a shorter period of time. For example, according to The Economist, finance graduates often have greater opportunities to work for prestigious companies and earn higher salaries. This phenomenon drives many young people choose to study business-relate subjects.

However, scientists play a significant role in society in a country. This is because the healthcare sector needs scientists to conduct research on infectious diseases. For instance, when an infectious disease such as Covid-19 hits the country, it urgently requires expertise with a science background to research and formulate medications to prevent further effects, reducing the burden on the healthcare systems. Another important issue is national defence, as many countries heavily rely on scientists to develop cybersecurity systems to protect confidential information and data. Without scientists, global threats from other countries may threaten national security, which could lead the risks to all the residents. As a result, a poor cybersecurity system may negatively affect the national economy.

In summary, although studying science is difficult, I strongly believe that the country should encourage students to pursue this degree to improve the healthcare system and the nation’s cybersecurity defence for safety.