Some people think that the pressure on school and university students is increasing and they are forced to work very hard from a young age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Academic strain on students is escalating day by day and they are forced to work hard in their young age. I believe this progression is entirely destructive, not only because of the stress and mental health but also due to lack of balance. This essay will explore how these factors justify my opinion.

There are multiple factors associated with this trend. First and foremost, it cause severe stress and mental health issues to students. In other words, extreme academic pressure can lead to mental health problems, anxiety and burnout easily due to studies burden. In fact, students struggle to manage unrealistic expectations from their parents. For instance, according to a report by the World Health Organization (WHO), those students are more likely to be found in mental issues who are expected to perform well in studies due to the societal and parents pressure. Thus, this point compels me the most to consider it a negative development.

Probing a head, another crucial factor supporting my argument is lack of balance. This means, intense focus on the studies often leaves little time for hobbies or to do any physical activities. Moreover, social development is majorly effective which is essential for the growth. For example, recently a study from Cambridge University found that children who are more involved in curriculum activities are known to be more proactive than others who are only indulged in studies. Hence, this point also favors my stance.

To sum up, mental health problems and lack of balance clearly prove that academic pressure on students is adverse in nature, and this should be avoided by the majority of educational institutes and parents.