Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

It is indeed that many of the guardians nowadays are very stringent when it comes to their children’s success because they are inclined to hold the view that this is the essential key for a phosphorous life, however despite its beneficial effects it is undeniable that this can provoke multiple health problems towards their children.

First and foremost, every parent only wants what’s best for their children. Most of them these days are putting a lot of pressure on their children, forcing them to strive better in the things that they must focus on. For instance, nowadays, guardians have higher expectations towards academic achievement within their children because they assume that this is the panacea towards a successful life. In addition, this brings a lot of various opportunities as they seek job employment in the future. As a result, these children will be more independent with their lives and can stand on their own feet facing real life challenges in a pragmatic way.

However, setting the bar as high as a tower creates a negative impression and impact on one’s wellbeing which can lead to various health issues. To illustrate, this can foster a mindset of unrealistic standards to their young ones aiming for perfection in life, this can trigger anxieties and depression in the long run which is inevitable in these younger generations. Furthermore, many studies show that children with high expectations are likely to suffer social withdrawal from the same age groups, as they view them as their competition rather than a companion . Consequently, if one goal was not able to be met in a particular timeline this can develop in disappointment and hatred to self.

In conclusion, high standards from family members might be a vehicle for multiple opportunities in life, as this only aims for greatness for their youngsters, but these high aspirations tend to have drawbacks that can lead to undesirable effects that might harm someone’s mental state in the long period of time.