Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

Pressure on children by their parents in the modern world has sparked debates. The key reason for this is a reflection of parents’ ambitions on their children. This tendency can lead to negative development due to burnout and a lack of interest in imposed activities in adulthood.

The prime contributing factor to this tendency is that parents might reflect dreams and goals that they have not pursued on their children. This is primarily because many parents consider a child as a continuation of themselves, perceiving a child’s successes as their own. For example, a child whose parents chose a career rather than a music profession would be pushed to learn about playing musical instruments from childhood. Consequently, it is a reflection of parents’ desires that frequently causes pressure on children.

Furthermore, not only can this trend cause negative associations with certain activity through burnout, but it can also lead to a lack of interest in this activity in adulthood. This is mainly because emotions and wishes of the child might be ignored, building up negative emotions associated with an imposed activity. As a result of an accumulation of negative emotions, children may experience mental instability such as burnout. Moreover, they, as adults, can lose interest in this activity due to an imposed target. For example, having learned to play the piano, a grown-up child can stop pursuing this type of music, or they can become burned out from this activity.

In conclusion, the main reason for the parental pressure on children is a reflection of their dreams. Consequently, it can cause some mental instability such as burnout.