In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

In the past, most people appreciated living in a small community since they easily connected with one another. In contrast, people are changing to dwell in large cities. From my perspective, residing in a rural area contains both merits and demerits which will be discussed in this essay.

Living in a small community contains some benefits. First of all, people almost know one another in that area so they can make closer friends. For example, neighbors helpe each other with childcare or during emergencies without payment. Furthermore, a small community bring them fewer challenges so they can enjoy themselves instead of competing all the time. To take an example, without the pressure of keeping up with trends or comparing salaries, people can concentrate on some simple joys like community festivals, gardening, family gatherings….. Finally, they have a sense of safety so they can ensure their property perfectly.

On the other hand, dwelling in the countryside has a lot of cons. The first point to note is limited privacy. As a result, it’s impossible to keep their own inevitable secrets. Moreover, they fimd it difficult to accept different lifestyles since there are some different generations living together. For instance, elderly people can’t adapt to the loud and trendy music, which is the fancy of teenagers. It leads to the imbalance of one another in other generations. In the end, the limit of education opportunities is a bad trend at that time. When they chôse to live in a “safe” community, they accidentally miss some chances in other places.

In my view, the cons of residing in the countryside were worse than the pros. Although they connected easily, they found it difficult to keep their own secrets and thoughts. Also, they would miss some opportunities to develop.