Nowadays people have started purchasing secondhand goods. Why is it so is it a negative or positive development?

It is true that secondhand goods are becoming more and more popular in the contemporary society. There could be several reasons for this, and I considered this to be a desirable trend. I will discuss the reasons for this trend and I consider it to be a positive development.

There are two contributing factors why people prefer secondhand goods. Firstly people have become more aware about the consequences of producing new items on environment. Using pre owned goods not only reduce the amount of natural resources used, but also the pollution emitted and waste generated in producing new items. Renowned brands are also shifting towards producing renewable and recycled products. For example, puma has recently launched its sustainable fitness clothing for both men and woman.

Secondly, people can buy their desired products with same features at lower prices and save money which could be later invested in various things.

However, in my view, demand for secondhand items is a favorable trend. The main reason is that it contributes introducing global warming as less trees would be cut down to produce new items. For instance a student may use pre-owned textbooks which would automatically cut down the resources to make new ones. Another benefit is that it reduces financial burden as secondhand items are available at 40 to 50% lower cost than actual price. This may also help people in becoming less workaholic.

In conclusion, the popularity of pre-owned items is due to several reasons, including its positive impact on environment by reducing pollution. However, this is a positive trend as it helps people to have good financial standings.