Nowadays, people spend less time at home. What are the causes of this? What are the effects of this on individuals and on society?

It is no doubt that the world is bustling as days pass by. Many people are spending time out of their home. From my point of view, this is due to several reasons.

Firstly, in modern times, people are expected to devote themselves to their work and studies. As the Earth’s population grows, competition to be the best grows. Since getting a job has become so tough that high school students are expected to excel in their studies, sports, etc. To exemplify, in South Korea, the majority of students spend an average of 14-15 hours outside their homes which they spend studying or by doing other activities. Even after getting a job many people work overtime to be promoted. This overtime workload may lead people to depression, various health problems and even suicide.

Secondly, many people avoid going home because of the stressful family environment at home. This often happens to teenagers and young adults due to issues such as family member’s alcoholism, anger issues, etc. The harassment often leads victims to avoid home, poor mental health, and being neglected. As a result, the victims get bullied or harassed at school. According to statistics, over 40 percent of the victims of school bullying had abusive parents or was neglected at home.

In conclusion, employees spend less time at home because of the workload stress. As for high school students and young adults, studying and other school-related activities could be one reason. Additionally, family’s stressful and abusive environment can be a reason for their absence at home.