Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

In recent years, there has been a noticeable decline in the usage of bicycles for transportation purposes. This issue can be ascribed to a few main reasons, and there are also a number of viable solutions, which can be implemented to mitigate this problem.

It is obvious that this issue can be attributed to some main factors and one of the primary reasons is the inconvenience of bicycles since individuals, who do not have much time prefer faster transit. Other vehicles allow users to commute faster and more comfortable while the speed of bikes is limited in relation to the health of users. For example, bikes require physical effort, which mainly deters users from using them, specifically for long distances. Additionally, the dangers of traffic as the lack of bicycle lanes and safety discourage using bicycles for commuting. Sharing the same lanes with other transit might create obstacles for cyclists, such as speeding and reckless overtaking as these behaviors cause anxiety regarding safety.

Nevertheless, there are several feasible solutions to alleviate this issue, one of the most effective solutions is to erect more bike lanes and bike parking areas to ensure safety. This solution provides cyclists with safer lanes, which mainly encourages them to utilize bikes. In addition, it is necessary to spread the message of health when riding a bike. This message might encourage individuals, who significantly care about their health to switch to use bicycles instead of other vehicles. For example, people might willing to use bikes for health purposes, specifically, the elderly and individuals who want to lose weight.

In conclusion, while the decline in the usage of bicycles for transportation purposes can be attributed to some main factors, it can be alleviated through the aforementioned solutions. In addition, collaborative efforts from commuters and communities are essential to create a more bicycle-friendly environment.