Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

In recent years, there has been a decreasing trend in the use of bicycles. This trend may be the consequence of some reasons. In this essay, I would point out some encouragements for people to travel by bikes more.

To commence with, the possibility of weight-carrying seems to be the prime limit of using bikes. To explain, with the thriving development of transportation, a number of vehicles have been introduced to the public. Cars and motorbikes are dominant over bicycles due to their mobility and convenience. With the engines, cars and motorcycles are feasible to carry a significant amount of weight instead of using your own strength to ride the bikes and make them move forward. Therefore, it is impossible for bicycle riders to carry heavy stuff along them. Another reason for the deterioration of the bicycles ‘s usage rate is the restriction on the quantity of people who can travel with them. Take cars for instance, there are a variety of seats from four seats, seven seats, sixteen seats, or even 45 seats, which are capable of carrying several individuals for a long distance. Meanwhile, bikes only have one or two seats, which is not an ideal means of transport for a long journey.

However, there are numerous policies that government can implement to support the growth in riding bikes. The primary one is to provide in financial assistance for residents, the desire to obtain a bike in some families is a daunting task due to the exorbitant living expenses that the family budget all spends on paying bills. Because of that, government aid is the must for people to ride bikes more.

In conclusion, bicycles are the vehicle that bolsters healthy bodies and wellness. However, they are no longer appropriate to be a prevalent mode of transport in this era due to the substantial growth of other modes of transportation.