Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

In recent times, bicycles have become a less preferred option in terms of means of transport. This essay will examine the driving force behind this phenomenon and propose a range of solutions to encourage citizens to use bikes more frequently.

There is one major reason that explains why cycling has become less prevalent. In the past, due to the lack of developed production processes, many modern vehicles with engines were highly expensive. Therefore, bikes were optimal choices, especially for those with lower means of living, since they are easily made and require little expenses for maintenance. Nevertheless, due to major technological advancements, more comfortable means of transport, namely cars and motorcycles, have become more accessible, increasing people’s ownership. These ways of commuting provide owners a better speed and long-travel distances without requiring physical strength, which is an indispensable element for cycling. As science has proven that people are likely to gravitate towards the most convenient option, it is entirely understandable why cycling is not prioritized.

To encourage individuals to use bicycles as a form of transport, one solution can be implemented. Due to the competitive nature of the modern era, many individuals dedicate most of their time to studying and working in order to pursue a certain future. Thus, they may not have enough time for necessary physical activities, potentially leading to various health issues associated with sedentary lifestyle, such as obesity and diabetes. However, these issues could be alleviated if the government launches educational and awareness campaigns to encourage people to cycling to the workplace, burning up the intake calories without affecting their working time. These campaigns can highlight the health, environmental, and economic benefits of cycling, as well as showcase successful examples of cycling-friendly cities and initiatives.

In conclusion, the declining interest in cycling can be attributed to the modern advent of more comfortable modes of transport. In my view, incentivizing people to engage in more cycling activities associated with certain campaigns, which promote cycling culture.