Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

Now that bicycles today are useless as a type of transport, many people are concerned about its positive impact on the environment and habits. This essay aims to discuss the major reasons behind this issue and propose feasible solution to tackle it.

The problem of decreasing bike use could be attributed to two main factors. Firstly, people nowadays tend to have modern life and modes of transportation like cars and motorbikes. These vehicles offer greater speed and convenience, allowing individuals to travel longer distances in shorter time. For example, people use a car to go to work in ten minutes but using a bicycle may take fifteen minutes or more. Secondly, the development of transportation systems has provided people with more efficient and comfortable travel. Therefore, cycling is getting increasingly dangerous.

Addressing the issue is crucial to coping with using a cycle, a fundamental value in transport, and requires collective efforts. Initially, the government should provide bike land. Indeed, it can encourage citizens to cycle. For instance, Amsterdam is well-known as one of the most bicycle-friendly cities, with a wide network of traffic-calmed streets like bike paths, and bike racks. The result is that it becomes a friendly city. Additionally, planning and funding “bike sharing projects”. This participation may improve easier access to bikes; thus people enhance their mental and physical health.

In conclusion, modern life and the safety of modern transportation are potential explanations for the challenges associated with residents. Collective efforts between the government and individuals are required to tackle this problem. While the government can play its part by providing bikes, people can mitigate the problems by participating in bike sharing projects.