Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

Bicycles are less applied as a kind of vehicle because there are more convenient types of transport that can be used and risk of accident. However, it can be solved by creating vehicle-free days and ameliorating road system.

The causes of this tendency could be rise of other modern vehicles and safety issues. Regarding other vehicles, modern vehicles do not require a lot of energy as bicycles need and can be more comfortable. A person, who cycles gets exhausted, because an individual must actively use their legs to arrive at a destination, while another person, who use modern vehicle such an electric car can arrive earlier than cyclist and spend less energy on it. Also, cities tend to do not have any specialized road for bicycles which can lead to risk of accidents. Consequently, people use less bicycle.

One of the solutions to this problem could be vehicle-free days, during which people are prohibited to use any vehicles. By implementing this idea, people will less drive vehicles and rethink about bicycles as a type of transport, resulting in more cycling. Another answer could be developing road system. By establishing a special path only for bicycles, cyclers can be less anxious about accidents. For example, Denmark has more than 10,000 km of cycle routes, thus it is best known for being the best country for cyclists.

To conclude, there is a recent tendency, where popularity of bicycle as a mean of transportation decreases due to security problems and other vehicles, that are more convenient. Although, by implementing day without vehicles and improvement of cycle paths, this problem can be tackled.