Nowadays shops are open longer hours. Is it a positive or negative development for both shoppers and local people?

As shop’s tendency to close late continues to rise, so do concerns about whether this trend implicates positive or negative outcomes for both parties involved. It is evident that possible drawbacks fail to overshadow the obvious positive developments.

Both people and shops can greatly benefit from more working hours at malls and shopping centers. Ceratin demographics, such as doctors, engineers, and supervisors, tend to have long hours at work, feeling exhausted afterwards, which amounts to being an obstacle to attend to certain chores like shopping groceries or apparells in free time. If these venues were to stay opened until late, not only does this help these professionals whose tight schedules prevent them from appropriate timing needed for shopping, but it also generates more revenue for the economy. Admittedly, the more shops increase their operational hours, the more customers are able to buy from them, increasing their incomes.

All this notwithstanding, some commentators argue that this movement might hinder the seller’s life balance, or simply put a financial strain on households. More working hours for malls means less hours for their employees that would otherwise be spent on themselves or their families. Left attended, the increasing availabilty to purchase items costs damage to the social life of workers, as their dwindling hours not at work are left for rewinding not rekindling relationships. Buyers, on the other hand, are more inclined to allocate more budget to purchacing goods, some of which may not be even necessary. Especially, women are more susceptible to this allure, as their psychological tendency to indulge in shopping sprees are nothing short of reality. Unless these matters are taken into account by mall suprvisors and those who tend to buy more, the idea to create the around-the-clock shops aiming at being a helpful addition to the community remains elusive.

By way of conclusion, the positive developments related to keep shops open for more hours far eclipse the setbacks, as they are mere speculations and can be managed by proper planning and self-control.