Nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

With the development of algorithms, those advertisements are easily recommended in social media platforms which could manipulate consumer behavior and shape purchasing decisions. However, there are a lot of people who are less influenced by advertising in the past. Therefore, this essay will discuss further and share my perspective.

Although those advertisements may persuade consumer behavior, people become more resistant to advertising. This is supported by the fact that consumers gradually improve the skill of critical thinking since consumers are easily tricked by those clipping skills of advertisements. For example, some misleading advertisements take advantage of clipping to create impractical effectiveness of those products in the advertisements. As a result, more consumers are likely to search for those products’ information and reviews before purchasing them.

On the other hand, with the development of technology, it is simple for the public to access information. For instance, people likely utilize social media platforms to share their experiences after using those products. Thus, the various media platforms offer a way for consumers to build up consumer awareness which could better make rational decisions and declining effectiveness of advertising. Therefore, people are less susceptible to advertising.

In conclusion, people are not easily influenced by advertising which depends on the development of technology. That true information could reduce impulse purchasing. As a result, it is a positive development for human life.