Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, using technology to keep an eye on people through mobiles or security cameras is a pervasive issue, while they might be unaware of what is happening. I would argue that this development has many disadvantages than advantages.

Monitoring others without telling them may have some reasons behind it, it is sometimes for security purposes or following a certain case. For instance, police officers may have to follow some people by depending on one of these technologies to assist them in collecting some related information. Moreover, compound’s security also tends to track security cameras in order to reveal any unethical practices such as theft, burglary, ventilation, and so on. However, in other cases, this phenomenon could be worse than expected and generates myriad drawbacks. For example, there are state-of-the-art technologies which enable anyone to use them in illegal way and get hack people’s privacy.

Furthermore, one of the most renowned techniques that are usually used is electronic piracy, which is the practice of downloading and distributing copyrighted works digitally without permission. This data may be images, music, or even personal data, then unfortunately, could engender many backfires in divergent fields such as cyber security and human life at the personal level. To illustrate more, following human beings through their everyday contexts in order to get more details about their bank account or security PIN of their credit cards is taxing them a lot and threaten their insurance.

In conclusion, the recent advanced technology enables people to monitor others’ lives through different means like, security cameras and cellphones, which might be without their permission. In my perspective, the demerits of this attitude overshadow the merits.