Nowadays the differences between countries are becoming less evident because we see the same TV shows, advertisements, fashion and follow the same brands. To what extent the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

In this fast-paced world, owing to globalization, there is a prevailing concern related to the increasing similarity between countries. Whereas individuals espouse that the fact that people watch the same programs, advertisements, styles and follow the same brands has nothing to do with the growth of the countries, I acknowledge that the downsides of this tendency outweigh its benefits due to the following sentiments.

On the one hand, proponents of the aforementioned situation assume that sharing the same interests in various spheres can ensure the rapport among people from different cultural backgrounds. Because of having shared knowledge regarding media and brands, the intercultural conversations can go smoothly without a lack of topics. This argument may be true but it has not taken into consideration the fact that given watching the same content, people probably have different understandings, thereby leading to confusion and conflicts.

In a stark contrast, the loss of cultural identity can be attributable to globalization. The popularity of certain shows and trends among the nations drives the traditional factors to be lesser in their influence. The process of instilling cultural values in residents, therefore, is interrupted, causing them to gradually fall into oblivion. This can be exemplified by the fact that foreign brands frequently garner significant attention from the public, resulting in the faded presence of domestic products in the national markets. Furthermore, the products manufactured would be similar in functions and appearance with the aim to satisfy the same preferences of the demography, contributing to the decreasing dynamic markets. As an illustration, the spread of similar styles can tail off the diversity of the fashion industry, deteriorating international commerce. Consequently, this problem can exert alarming impacts on the economy of the countries for a long term.

In conclusion, the sentiment that losing cultural identity and worsening national economy outshadows the flawed argument that supports smooth dialogues between different cultural partners.