Nowadays, there is more and more competition for getting into university. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary world , as the number of university applicants is growing , a deliberation has been arisen concerning whether this rising competition in educational institutions obtains positive or negative implications . Looking from my humble perspective, competition tends to be more detrimental notwithstanding its potential benefits.

More candidates are applying to colleges , causing one of the major drawbacks the enormous pressure on students. Undoubtedly, competitions often contributes to irritation,heightened stress levels and issues bound with mental health . So appalling the impact of competitions that a countless quantity of pupils face sleepless nights , low self-esteem , additionally stable burnouts , breakdowns in order to outshine their opponents . To illustrate , a survey was conducted by American Psychological Association , which elucidated elevated levels of stress and anxiety disorders . Consequently, this negative influence on well-being is capable of hindering pupil’s overall development and causing discernible declines .

On the other hand , the dynamic of competitors resulting intense competition is able to act as a driving force that motivates students to strive for knowledge and excellence. When faced up to a highly competitive environment, applicants are inspired to become more creative , academic,disciplined . Therefore they are more likely to evolve a labor , resilience , which are essential qualities for success in plethora aspects of life . Moreover, more competition means universities attract a diverse pool of talented individuals from around the world. This diversity fosters a rich multicultural environment, encouraging collaboration and the exchange of concepts among students from different backgrounds.

To reach a conclusion, my firm conclusion is that this phenomenon’s negative sights certainly outweigh the advantages. In spite of its cultural diversity and impulsion , competitors should not be so anxious about enrolling the academy