Nowadays, there is more and more competition for getting into university. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern era, competition has become popular among people, especially young people, are willing to get into the university. In my opinion, competition is beneficial , but in this case can create more negative mental and emotional impacts.

One of the major drawbacks of competition is that increasing pressure on students; Moreover, intense competition can contribute to elevated stress levels among students and has a harmful impact on students mental health issues, such as anxiety, and students are more likely to face sleepless nights as well as experience insomnia in their lives. For example, in Iran, parents are used to encouraging their children to excessive study since they believe, it helps them to get into well known university although research findings confirm that

these children may suffer from depression.

On the other hand, some people say competition acts as a motivation factor to children; leading to increased accessibility. Consequently, students may display higher levels of determination. However. I do not find this argument convincing as competition in all level can destroy a sense of humanity among people, especially the young. Additionally, young people only focus on their own successful without considering other people lives. For instance, in Japan, the government attempts to raise public awareness about humanity, and how people can improve their relationships besides their competitions.

To conclude , I completely agree, competition can have

detrimental effects on students’ lives, and they more likely to face social and mental problems, they may also forget a sense of humanity and become lonely.