Nowadays, there is more and more competition for getting into university. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is obvious to see that the competition of getting into university has become significantly challenging and more serious these days. In the following paragraphs, I will be discussing on both sides of its positive and negative changes before providing my personal opinion.

First of all, the competition for getting universities’ admission helps improve students’ abilities and goals on their academic journey. Since people have been prone to distraction due to the emergence of IT gadgets such as mobile phone, tablets, making serious in getting or selecting right education get students stay focus on their educational milestones. That will help develop and build the necessary foundation for their better future. In addition, they will become familiar with competitive lifestyles and will be ready to cope with any competitions or hardships they can face in real life.

Although the competition has its own advantages, some concerns have been raised as a result of it. Firstly, it will make students’ life difficult because they always have to try hard to stay ahead of everybody to get what they want. Consequently, that can bring detrimental consequences, such as stress, depression, on students. Not only that, because of competitive requirements to get into academic institutions, parents will feel the burden financially and emotionally to support their kids to meet educational requirements.

In conclusion, although it can bring positive development by making getting into university more competitive, in my personal opinion, I agree on the fact that it can be more harmful to students and their societies. Instead, it should be reasonable competitive and also need to be easily accessible and should have fun when students are trying to get their academic achievements in their life.