Nowadays, there is more and more competition for getting into university. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, competition to get into university is becoming more and more apparent. Before giving my opinion, I will discuss both the positive and negative aspects of this issue.

First of all, this competition will help students become more proactive in learning. Because of studying well and achieving better academic results can get you into a good university. And being trained in such good university environments will create an outstanding educational foundation for you. Not only that, it also builds a solid knowledge system that will help you a lot in the future. So, competition acts as a driving force to push you forward to achieve what you want.

Although there are such unique advantages, competition also has alarmingly points. Because of having to compete with many people will lead to academic pressure for students. They always have to work as hard as possible to surpass others. Besides, there is also pressure from family. There are parents who always want their children to be better than others, so they force their children to go to many extra schools. If their children didn’t get good grades, they would be disappointed and scolded them. I read in the newspaper that there are many suicides just because of pressure from parents.

Therefore, with the current situation, I am more inclined to a negative opinion. I think we should reduce the pressure on students by reducing the competition for getting into university.