Nowadays, there is more and more competition for getting into university. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is obvious to see that the competition for getting into university has become significantly more challenging and serious these days. In the following paragraphs, I will be discussing both sides of its positive and negative changes before providing my personal opinion.

First of all, the competition for universities’ admission helps improve students’ abilities and goals on their academic journey. Since people have been prone to distractions due to the emergence of IT gadgets such as mobile phones and tablets, making it serious about getting or selecting the right education helps students stay focused on their educational milestones. That will help them develop and build the necessary foundation for a better future. In addition, they will become familiar with competitive lifestyles and will be ready to cope with any competitions or hardships they can face in real life.

Although the competition has its own advantages, some concerns have been raised as a result of it. Firstly, it will make students’ lives difficult because they always have to try hard to stay ahead of everybody to get what they want. Consequently, that can have detrimental consequences, such as stress and depression, for students. Not only that, because of the competitive requirements to get into academic institutions, parents will feel the burden financially and emotionally to support their kids to meet educational requirements.

In conclusion, although it can bring positive development by making getting into university more competitive, in my personal opinion, I agree on the fact that it can be more harmful to students and their societies. Instead, it should be reasonable competitive, easily accessible, and fun when students are trying to achieve academic achievements in their lives.