Nowadays, there is more and more competition for getting into university. Is this a positive or negative development?

All students dream of having a place in high school, but this dream will be more difficult to reach due to fierce competition between them. Demand for getting into high school, particularly some high institutions has increased significantly. We can consider this change an improvement on one hand, and recrudescence on the other.

There are several benefits of this fact, enhancing the level of student’s performance is the main feature so high schools choose the best students who have good marks, the increased demand makes schools raise the criteria of subscription such as linguistic skills, age…

Parents will spend more money to prepare their children and succeed in getting into university even if they do not have sufficient financial resources. It is a positive sign because it helps authorities to achieve the educational system’s goals.

When it comes to backward, most of the students will have a chance only in subjects that lead to low-income positions because they do not have the high criteria for getting into better institutions. Moreover, high-income families will have more chances than limited-income ones. In other words, the educational system will be in favor of the rich classes, it can be a destabilizer of social equilibrium. Finally, the worst convenient of this phenomenon is the wasting of talents because of the complicated criteria of selection of students, talented students come from unfavourable areas better in mathematics but due to poverty, they do not have good marks in languistic skills.

To conclude, the educational system should guarantee the chances of all social classes, and take into consideration the disadvantages of the fierce competition to get into university to avoid exclusion which can be a result of school dropout