Nowadays we have become a throwaway society with where it is common to throw away devices and gadgets instead of repairing them. Why is this happening and what are the effects of this?

Modern technology had drastically affected the way of living. In the recent times, it has become a trend that people tend to buy new products such as devices and gadgets and dispose the old ones rather than repairing them. This is because of brainstorming advertisements of companies and high cost of repair by companies. This phenomenon had led to financial burden on middle class people and unsustainability in environment.

Firstly, companies market their products in such a way that one cannot resist on buying it. They use the marketing strategy of influencing people’s mind such that they feel inferior having the old fashion products and generally throw away old ones when it got damaged instead of repairing it. For example, companies market new mobile phones by saying that old ones are of past technology and brainstorm individual’s mind. Additionally, brands kept the repairing cost so high that people generally think of buying new one instead of repairing old one. To increase the profit and sales of the business corporation, they kept the expense of fixing the old device high.

Moreover, there are severe effects of throwing away devices on individuals and even on environment. Due to over spending on new devices and getting rid of old ones, middle and lower middle class people generally get financially unstable. This even increases the mental stress and can cause a situation of depression. Furthermore, throwing away the gadgets in also harmful to the environment. This is because, these types of waste in non-recyclable, non-resuable and even non-biodegradable. This garbage cannot be dumped properly. For instance, it also contains parts having harmful materials like lithium battery which pollutes the land or water surface on which it is dumped.

To conclude, companies’ increasing greed for profit and over influencing marketing and advertising strategy turns out to be the primary causes for throwing away trend in socieites. Financial unstability and environmental pollution are the harsh effects of this notion.