Nowadays, young people are spending more money on their idols. What are the causes and effects of this trend?

In this day and age, an increasing number of teenagers are squandering money on their idols. This essay will explain several major causes behind this trend as well as discuss its impacts on the youth.

It is irrefutable that the act of overspending money on favorite celebrities may culminate in individual’s desire to support their idols. Some avid fans show great admiration for their idols; therefore, purchasing goods and endorsed products can be a good way for them to support their favorite public figures. Additionally, peer influence is another significant factor contributing to young people’s overexpenditure. To illustrate, the fear of missing out of or not fitting in with the fan community can drive spending behavior, urging people to buy similar items as their friends. For instance, a group of my friends are fans of Son Tung. They tend to purchase exclusive tickets to concert and buy limited goods; consequently, I start to feel compelled to follow them in order to feel included in the group.

However, in the long run, this can exert adverse impacts on teenagers. Continuously wasting money on exclusive merchandise drives people to the edge of bankruptcy. Specifically, if the youth prioritize spending on their idols over buying necessities, they will easily lose control of their spending, which leads to financial burden. Moreover, so as to buy limited-edition merchandise releases or VIP tickets, fans have to always stay up to date with the latest news related to their idols. This requires a large amount of time and effort, thus negatively affecting their academic performance due to distractions and tardiness these activities can cause.

To conclude, it is necessary for individuals to be wary of their spending habits and prioritize their financial well-being over their idols to minimize the implications of this phenomenon.