Obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the main causes of this issue?

Nowadays, there is no doubt that overweightness is a major health issue that is common in developed countries. This problem occurs due to sedentary lifestyles as well as the high number of fast-food consumptions within the population. This essay will further discuss the specific reasons for the aforementioned concern.

The first reason leading to obesity is that people who have sedentary lifestyles are prone to develop obesity during their lifetime. Adults, who are usually stuck with a job behind a desk, tend to include little to no movements daily. Hence, without any significant activity that induces cardiac work, which helps with fat-burning, human bodies may fail to regulate properly. Nevertheless, the easiest countermeasure is to encourage adults to exercise often. For instance, Google headquarters in the United States allow an extra one-hour break daily, for physical activities like cycling or running on a treadmill, which can be done in the on-site gym.

Secondly, the consumption of junk food is a widespread presence in society. Office workers, who are observed to be working long hours with a short break, usually prefer instant choices because of the short waiting period for their meals. Furthermore, many find it convenient as fast-food outlets are available in every nook and corner around them. Despite that, providing healthier options accessible may lead them to eat fewer instant consumables. As an illustration, since 2019, Crown Hotels has provided a staff canteen with various nourishing cuisines so their employees do not have to buy from McDonald’s across the road. This example shows that it is possible to make nutritionally balanced choices available and convenient instead of junk snacks.

In conclusion, the prevalence of obesity in wealthier nations remained significant. Whether due to the sedentary lifestyle adopted by the population or due to the tendency of having junk diets, there are reasonable measures that can be implemented to improve the condition in the future.