Obesity is now a major global epidemic. What are the causes of this? What can be done to tackle this increasingly common problem?

Nowadays, people suffer from being overweight, and it is becoming a major epidemic worldwide. This condition affects not only individual’s physical well-being, but also puts pressure on healthcare system. There are some reasons why obesity is increasing, but some steps can be taken to reduce this problem.

One main reason for this epidemic is lack of activity. Modern life made people more sedentary, because they spend a lot of time sitting in one place, binge-watching or using their phones. Another cause is unhealthy eating habits. Nowadays many people prefer eating fast food, sugary drinks and unhealthy snacks that cooking healthy meals at home. Because they are cheap and easy to buy. In addition, advertisements, which is becoming part of our lives, encourage both adults and children to choose junk foods.

To tackle this problem, government and individuals should work together. Firstly, schools should promote students to exercise regularly in daily routine and create opportunities for this. Creating safe parks and sports facilities would help people exercise often. Secondly, public healthcare campaigns should encourage public to eat more fruits and vegetables and maintain an active lifestyle. Finally, government should limit the advertising of unhealthy food, especially for children and adults.

in conclusion, obesity is mainly caused by poor diet and lack of exercise. However, by promoting healthy lifestyle, creating opportunities for workout and by limiting advertisement this problem can be reduced.