Obesity rates are rising in many countries around the world. What are the main causes of this problem, and what solutions can be offered to tackle it?

Obesity has become an increasingly pressing issue in modern society. This essay will examine the underlying causes of this problem, including an excessive consumption of fast food. This essay will also examine solutions to these challenges, including imposing higher taxes on this type of food.

One major cause of rising obesity rates is people’s obsession with junk food. Individuals neglect healthy food and swap it for calorie-dense food, as it quickly provides them with the feeling of fullness and satisfaction. Little do they realize that such dietary patterns might wreak havoc on their body because they are comprised of harmful ingredients. Many studies suggest that fast food is the principal contributor to overweight because human’s stomach struggles with digesting it. Not only does it lead to further complexities like inflammation or cardiovascular diseases but also triggers excessive weight, as this food significantly weakens the stomach functions.

However, some steps might be taken into consideration in order to address an excessive consumption of junk food. Governments might impose higher taxes on calorie-dense food and make it less accessible for their citizens. Only by imposing some financial restrictions can the decline of obesity rates happen because it will become accessible to only privileged groups of people. For example, the Chinese government actively regulates local food-industries, restricting their further development by imposing higher taxes on their production. Not only does it reduce the number of such corporations, but it also leads to the fact that their products fall in demand, as people are not ready to overpay for them.

In conclusion, although the number of obese people is growing and the crucial factor for this is fast food, still, legislators might effectively tackle this challenge by providing some financial restrictions and, therefore, make it less available for consumers.