Obesity rates are rising in many countries around the world. What are the main causes of this problem, and what solutions can be offered to tackle it?

Nowadays, the great number of people are suffering from being overweight. The main causes of obesity are sedentary lifestyle and a wrong diet which could have been solved by extra physical exercises and raising people’s awareness in nutritional values.

First of all, lots of people lead a passive lifestyle today, in other words many individuals work at the desk, use computers for long hours, scroll on the Internet instead of doing some physical exercises. As a result, they become less active which contributes to health problems such as weight gain and obesity. Furthermore, a modern society tends to consume food wrongly, in particular, because of the lack of knowledge in nutritional values. People often choose the food without knowing its nutritional content. The great number of individuals prefer fast foods and processed meals to healthy, homemade dishes, because they are convenient and easily available. Consequently, people consume unhealthy, high-calorie meals instead of balanced food which eventually leads to problems with weight.

However, to address these issues, people ought to add more physical activities into their schedule. It can be done with Government intervention, that can introduce a law that requires reducing working hours of employees. By doing so, lots of people can use their free time by going to a gym or doing some sports, which can minimize the risk of gaining weight. Moreover, lack of people’s awareness in nutritional content of food can be addressed from young ages, in other words educational institutes can add new subject to students’ curriculum, that explain foods content and its value to human body.

In conclusion, many people suffer from obesity, because they lead passive lifestyle and lack knowledge in foods values, however it can be solved by government, that may introduce several laws, obeying all businesses to reduce working hours of their workers and adding new school subject for improving knowledge about the food consumption.