One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic jam has become a massive challenge for numerous cities in the world. This essay will examine the main reasons and possible solutions of this problem.

The main cause of traffic congestion in the towns is the growing number of office commuters. This is because, in the urban areas, thousands of job holders travel to their workplaces mostly at the same time of the day which often creates heavy traffic on the road. For instance, early morning is considered as rush hour in Dhaka city due to increased crowd caused by the office travelers. Furthermore, disobeying the traffic rules is another key reason for the congestion. Despite knowing the importance of traffic rules, many citizens do not follow them properly while using transportations. For example, the autorickshaw in Dhaka city is seen as one of the main factors behind gridlocks as the drivers do not obey the driving guidelines.

One possible solution to this issue can be home office facility. The reason is that, if employees have the opportunity to work from home, there will be no need of them travelling to their offices daily. For instance, conducting administrative tasks via online platforms at house will result in less busier routes in the metropolitans. Moreover, organizing seminars or campaigns can play a crucial role in increasing public awareness to resolve the problem. Through such initiatives, individuals who are not conscious about following the rules, can be educated about the negative consequences of their behaviour. The national traffic awareness week campaign arranged by the government of Bangladesh is a prime example of it.

To conclude, although the towns are going through heavy traffic related problems due to high number of professionals and lack of adherence of traffic laws, we can significantly lessen the issue by facilitating remote jobs and alerting the citizens to act responsible towards the instructions by various ways.