One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Due to the increase in the number of cars, people usually face huge traffic congestions in large cities. The main causes of this problem might be the inadequate infrastructure and the increase in demand for the cars. To tackle these causes, the government can use a few policies, such as increasing the government expenditure on infrastructure and improving the public transport system.

To reduce the time taken for the ride, most people prefer driving their cars for work or any trip. Thus, the number of cars on the highways will increase dramatically during particular periods of the day, and the traffic congestion occurs because of this if the roads are not wide enough to lower the time spent on the road . In this situation, roads being wider would play a substantial role to reduce the traffic. To achieve this, the government can increase its expenditure on infrastructure, investing an extra capital to organizations that are responsible for this public good. As a result, the wider roads immediately solve the problem of traffic congestion; in addition, the cost of fuel for each individual and company would decrease, leaving them with more money to spend on other activities, which definitely improves the living standards.

The second main problem arises because of a high demand for cars. This might have occurred due to poor public transport and its marketing. To solve this problem, government and public sectors can invest more money to improve this industry by lowering the ticket prices or introducing new advanced cars. Cheaper ticket prices eventually attract more people to use the bus or subway, changing their preferences to public transport from private cars. Moreover, new assets introduced to the sector might be equipped with high quality technologies, such as air conditioning, which leads to an increase in demand for public transport. As a result, the use of private cars decreases as individuals start using the alternative option for rides because of high quality and cheaper cost.

In conclusion, the reasons for high traffic congestion, such as undeveloped roads and high use of private cars, can be stopped by introducing extra capital to improve the public transport and infrastructure by investing more subsidies to infrastructure and public transport industries.