One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

In today’s rapidly evolving world, some argue that individuals waste their time every day mainly due to traffic congestion on the roads in numerous large cities. I firmly believe that a lack of effective public transport systems and the poor road conditions are the primary drivers of this issue. To address this problem, the cooperation of people and policymakers is required.

One significant factor for traffic congestion is that a lack of suitable public transport systems compels people to use private cars for their daily commuting, resulting in an increase in the number of vehicles on the roads and substantial growth in traffic congestion. Another reason is unsuitable roads conditions, particularly in developing countries. Such roads do not allow vehicles movie smoothly on routes, because they can be damaged, consequently leading to heavy traffic. For instance, in Tabriz a large city in Iran, because of insufficient public transport, people often use private cars for their daily journey across the city, which has caused traffic congestion in the city, particularly in rush hours. Therefore, a scarcity of infrastructure and unsuitable public transport systems play a crucial role in the creation of traffic congestion.

To tackle this problem, governments and people should share responsibility. Lawmakers should invest in developing public transport systems and encourage people to use them. These measures significantly reduce the number of private cars in roads, thereby declining traffic congestion. In addition, people should use public transport for their daily commuting, resulting in reducing the number of vehicles on the roads and traffic congestion. As an example, metro is the best form of public transport, as it allows people to commute conveniently across cities through underground paths, which greatly helps individuals save their time and reduce traffic congestion on roads.

To sum up, from my perspective, a lack of suitable infrastructure and efficient public transport lead to traffic congestion on roads in large cities. To resolve this problem, both policymakers and people take effective measures to achieve beneficial outcomes.