ou should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write no less than 250 words.

It is widely acknowledged that recently people tend to move to big urban centers, resulting to overpopulation. This essay will explore the different causes of this phenomenon and it will propose possible solutions.

One of the main causes is that more job opportunities are offered in major urban centers. Companies have their headquarters in big cities, hence a huge number of job openings is created. Moreover, plenty of other job opportunities exist, not only in companies, but also in shopping areas, public departments or educational institutions. This leads to people usually seeking for jobs in major cities because it is more efficient to achieve a new position in these areas.

Another cause of this challenge is the cultural, athletic and other activities that are taking place in major cities. Smaller cities do not provide opportunities to their residents for cultural events, such as theater and cinema, or opportunities for instilling new hobbies. Therefore, individuals spend their time by staying at home whithout having any opportunities to new experiences. Those who are seeking better ways to spend their free time and improve their well-being need to move to bigger cities that can provide these opportunities.

The way forward might be to develop the smaller cities by providing funds for the construction of cultural and sports centers, where community and cultural activities can take place. Additionally, a solution to this problem is to put additional taxes to major urban centres’ residents and minimize the taxes to the ones’ in smaller areas. In this way, people who want to avoid higher taxes will need to move to smaller cities. Finally, government intervention is needed, in order to persuade companies to move their offices to rural areas, by providing them funds and minimizing the taxes. In this way, new job opportunities will be created, which will attract not only residents from urban centers but also allow current residents to stay in their home town.

In conclusion, there are various factors that contribute to overpopulation in major urban centers, a variety of job opportunities and cultural events are some of the biggest ones. However, by improving the daily life in smaller cities with cultural and sports centers, adjusting the taxes to different areas and giving benefits to companies to move their activity in rural areas, could potential mitigate the challenge of overpopulation