You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

People have different views about competition and cooperation at work, school and daily life. While some believe that competition is a good thing to have, others argue that cooperation would benefit an individual more. In my opinion, both perspectives have merit, but I support the view of cooperation.

On one hand, People say that having competition at various aspects of our life is a good thing. It is widely beleived that competitiveness is a trait that has been imposed into the living beings to evolve and get adapted to the habitat in the harsh environment inorder to sustain their lifes. Humans still beleive that this trait is adequate in this modern social world which is not. The main reason is that competition leads to rivalry in between individuals. This is largely because, it acts as a battle royale where each person challenge with other for the superiority leading to rise in grudge and jelousy while the improvents in their skill being average to negligable. Furthermore their outcome was not as perfect as it was when they did it alone. For instance, researchers have picked ten students and given them a task to draw a beautiful picture depecting a landscape individually and later competing with eachother. But in the result no one got closer to their individual results and they have become more arrogant as the started challenging each other rather than perfecting their outcome.

On the other hand, people supporting the practice of cooperation argue that we should compete less and coperate more for better results. This is largely because unlike competing with each other–here, individuals can get in as group or a team and increase their skills by shraring knowledge, skills, failures and success togeather. Furthermore people can segregate their work loads according to the skills they have and help each other whenever they get struck. For example the same researcher who have studied about the behaviour of competiveness, have gathered another set of ten students and asked them to draw a landscape individually. Later he have ordered them to work in a group to draw another picutre. For his supprise the landscape drawn as a group has more details than the prior ones. which shows that, cooperation helps people gain extra knowledge and skills in a group level.

In my view I beleive that cooperation is better than the competition because, humans are the social beings and they need to be acted as a team rather than looking for their own gains inorder to sustain humanity and socialism.

In conclusion, although both the views exsits, I believe that cooperation is more practical for this modern social world than competition.