You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Competition is an element of life that can be observed almost everywhere. It could exist in work environments, educational institutes and even households. Although some advocate that a sense of competition is essential, others completely oppose this idea, making it quite a peculiar debate.

Firstly, competition could be viewed as a tool for motivation. That feeling of desiring to achieve more than someone else can sometimes be the catalyst to maximizing success. In many sectors, this can be what distills the overachievers from the rest. Thinking of another person as a benchmark relative to your goals and, if the circumstances are right, clearly communicating to that person about this competition are extremely healthy.

On the other hand, competition can sometimes be a negative due to various factors. It can very well lead to emotional blockades between the two competitors instead of strengthening their bond. Another emotional effect it could have is the burden of underachieving or ‘losing’. In schools, a crystal clear example of this is when teachers give out test scores and students start comparing their results with each other. Peers shaming each other for having lower grades is a very common occurrence during these moments. Finally, it is more desirable for people to cooperate and practice forms of team-building rather than going against one another.

In conclusion, I believe that the concept of competition should exist in everyday life with the condition that it should always be regulated or clearly communicated. This would simultaneously avoid conflicts between people, and encourage them to improve in their field. Overall, it would increase productivity and efficiency all throughout our lives.