You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people argue that children should be encouraged to have competative feeling. While, others recommend to teach children to be cooperative. In my opinion, in today’s developing world it is crucial for children to be competitive rather than cooperative.

The current generation kids are a lot more keen on using technology, such as smart phones and tablets. Although they may be using the technology for their studies, but there are a lot of distracters such as social media and games. Children tend to spend most of their time using them rather than studying. However, encouraging them to participate in various activities, such as sports, can develop an urge to win that particular sport or a game. For instance, if a player is good at chess and another player is new to the game, he or she will feel to reach at same level as of the other player. Being new to the game, the person will definitely work on improving on ourself by observing other persons skills.

On the other hand, just being cooperative is not enough in today’s competitive world. Children should be taught to obey elders orders and cooperate to societies rules and regulations, but this skill is not enough to survive as competition is much more higher. For example, if a group of student is cooperative, follows teachers path, but there is no competitive feeling then there is a high possibility the children might fail.

In conclusion, children should be taught to cooperate, but more weightage should be given on encouraging them to be competative which will help them to gain confidence and do better in their career.