You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is no denying the fact that the competitive environment exits everywhere, during studying, working and other areas. While it is commonly held belief that competition is a good behaviour, there is also an argument that people shouldn’t compete and must help each other. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion.

On one hand, competition increases the the overall productivity and has a significant effect on the performance for the individuals in the various areas. In other words, when productivity raises, as a result that leads to innovation, creativity. In addition, while there is a competition individuals will have more commitment for the tasks, homework and be careful about the deadlines. For example, a study from Japan showed that when some companies give a new award for the employees who finished their tasks before the deadline the commitment jumped about 30%.

On the other hand, cooperation makes people gather and solve the problems as a team. It is also possible to say that it saves the time and efforts as more that one brain think so more ideas appear. Moreover, sharing ideas is an essential part of working with people and reduce selfishness. For instance, in the term of study if a student loves math and the other is good at chemistry they can share and learn from each other instead of competing.

In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. However, I ten to believe that people have to compete to do the tasks, as in this way people express generation more ideas, innovation and commitment.