Over-reliance on modern technology means that people are failing to learn, or are forgetting, many basic skills. "To what extent is this true? Are people becoming so reliant on modern technology that they are no longer able to do some things without it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays modern technology has become an integral part of our lives. In most of cases they have made our life much easier. Even though these changes have influenced people’s lives a lot, it has a detrimental effect as well. On top of that, people have become so reliable on modern electronic devices, that they can lose some basic skills.

First of all, it’s important to mention people’s ability to learn grammar rules of the particular language, because the majority of up-to-day technologies have the algorithm that helps to make faster and simplify the process of writing texts. Thus, people jeopardize the development of their own literacy, which in turn can entail person’s lack of intelligence as well as narrowing down his opportunities in finding, for instance, a well-paid job. Frequently the habit of using automatic keyboard reflects in person’s disability to express their thoughts correctly, so that everyone would understand the purpose of sharing these ideas.

Moreover, a plenty of people got used to using various online maps to get to their destination, as a result, they can easily get lost in some unexpected situations. For example, the availability of wi-fi is not constant and isn’t everywhere, in other words, if the person doesn’t have any sense of direction without using maps, then they won’t be able to find the exact place, because of the fact that the over-reliance on using different devices can sometimes have really unpleasant consequences in acquiring even the most ordinary skills.

On the whole, it can’t be argued that the appearing of modern technology in every field has completely changed the way people live nowadays, however, it has a destroying impact on some knowledges and skills that people are able to gain as they live.