Over the last few years, school boards have increasingly utilized standardized tests to measure their students' performance. Many people believe these tests do not accurately reflect most students' academic abilities and should therefore be stopped. Do you agree with this belief? What are some other ways students can be assessed for achievement?

Countless cases where bright, diligent students are flunked or fail to achieve the scores they arguably deserve have led many to question the wholesomeness of standardized testing. I wholeheartedly believe that this form of assessment is not fair and should be replaced.

One might argue that standardized tests put everyone on an equal footing. This is predicated on the assumption that these tests are designed to assess what school children learned in class, and therefore, those who prepare well will do well. However, this line of reasoning is not sound because it fails to factor people’s differences into the equation. Some test takers simply cannot deal with stress well and consequently succumb to anxiety, undermining their ability to think rationally and coherently. They, as a result, score poorly, which by no means reflects their actual ability or intellect, rendering standardized tests unfair.

There are other more acceptable forms of academic evaluation. For example, students may be asked to complete a research essay, collaborate on a team project, or deliver a speech to an audience. By allowing students to engage in forms of assessment that best suit their characters, educators can enable them to showcase their actual abilities. This helps young people develop as individuals and better prepares them for the real world, where nothing is standard and merit is based on individual achievement.

In conclusion, boards of education must realize that individual students are diverse in their characters and, consequently, in their strengths and weaknesses. They should, therefore, be evaluated accordingly in order to accurately assess their academic capabilities.