Over the past fifty years international sports events such as the Olympic Games and the World Cup have played an increasingly important role in our society. However, many people think such international sports competitions are an enormous waste of money, time and effort. Do you agree?

In the span of fifty years global sports events like the Olympic Games and the World cup have played a significant role in our community. However, some people believe that such worldwide sports tournaments are a huge waste of money, time and effort. To my point of view, such competitions are needed because it unites people and boosts the economy.

Firstly, one of the major reasons why such competitions are valuable is that it unites people from all around the world. The Olympic Games and the World Cup bring athletes and fans from multiple countries together, allowing people to share their experiences and learn about different cultures. It encourages mutual understanding and respect. For instance, there were around 600 competitors, and 11.2 million people arrived at the Paris Olympic Games.

Secondly, such international sports events might boost the economy for the host country. Organizing such global tournaments creates several temporary and permanent jobs, particularly in construction, tourism and service industries. Events like this usually last a long period of time which benefits local businesses. Hotels, shops and restaurants are kept busy for the whole time because of the increased number of tourists. For example, at the World Cup in Qatar tourists spend nearly $5 billion.

In conclusion, although some people argue that international sports events are a huge waste of resources, I disagree. To my way of thinking, global events like the Olympic Games or the World Cup are essential to the society, because they bring people with different backgrounds together and improve the economy of the host country.