Overfishing of the world's oceans threatens many species with extinction and is putting the livelihood of millions of people around the world at risk. What are the causes of this problem and what can be done to prevent it from happening? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Many species of fish are threatened with extinction by overfishing world’s oceans and the lives of an increasing number of people are being put at risk. This essay will discuss how illegal methods of fishing and low level of monitoring regulations are main causes of global overfishing, and reducing the sale of illegal equipment in available access and strengthen the rules for fish catching limits can deal with it.

There are several causes of threats to species extinction and livelihood of people by overfishing. Firstly, banned equipment that sells easily. Fishing nets truly are dangerous gear against them. Some people are getting fish in small amounts basically by rod. However, others obtain a massive number of fish by using prohibited nets that fish cannot recognise and being caught without any effort. Secondly, government and global organisations have not managed this issue. World associations do not react to risks of human life resources, while large companies and industries are catching plenty of fish by illegal methods, ignoring any limitations and harming the ecosystem.

Despite these issues, there are solutions to solve it. The first solution is to reduce production of banned equipment for fishing. People will think about the responsibility that can be taken for selling and purchasing illegal gear. The second one is to increase penalties and be stricter towards large businesses that pass limits, they must be fined or lose their license. If they could lose permission for seafood industry, they would avoid breaking the law. For instance, in the past Japanese aquaculture factories negatively affected water ecology, which injured local citizens. By decision of an international judge, many factories were fined a huge amount of money.

In conclusion, general causes of global overfishing are illegal fishing methods and weak controlling, and solutions are to decrease purchases of illegal equipment in availability and make the law stricter for fish catching limits.