Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

A lot of huge cities around the world are suffering from a problem of overpopulation, which is a quite serious global issue and a popular thing to think about nowadays. This problem is mainly caused by the uneven economic or medical development, but it can be solved through effective government for instance.

One of the primary causes of urban overpopulation is migration from other places, in order to search for better employment, higher salaries and more improved access to medicine and education. As long as rural areas lack of developed infrastructure, large cities become the most attractive option. Consequently, for example, as people move to the bigger city, they usually stay there constantly and give birth to children, so the birth rate is rising every year. Additionally, the next factor is the concentration of different contemporary services in towns, in short, governments tend to heavily invest in urban centres, due to that, encouraging people to relocate. As a result, smaller cities struggle to retain their population.

To solve this question, governments should focus on improving suburban and regional areas by creating more working places, enhancing the infrastructure and expanding public services outside major cities, so people will have fewer reaons to migrate. As an example, creating more universities and upgraded schools, establishing more large companies or businesses can help smaller towns attract both workers and students, subsequently gradually leveling the number of people in each city. Moreover, public transportation improvement and comfortable housing withing huge places allows managing population more affordably.

Altogether, urban overpopulation is mostly caused by migration and economic imbalance, although, using the right strategic planning and equal development through all regions, it can be concluded. Governments can reduce the pressure on major towns, by following those tips and at the same time improve living conditions at all.