Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Overpopulation in large cities has become a major problem in many countries. As many urban centres grow, heavy traffic has made environmental pollutions. This essay will elaborate on the causes of overpopulation and how to solve it.

To begin, one of the primary causes of overpopulation in cities is migration from rural to urban . Many people from countryside move to urban centres in search of better employment. They are searching for higher salaries in urban centres. Secondly, the myth from old people who believe if parents have lots of children, they will have more luck. They believe that a child can bring luck to their life, therefore the more children they have the more luck they will get.

Furthermore, to address this issue the governments should focus on developing rural and smaller urban areas. The government could develop them to have the same job opportunities as the urban centres offer. Since the transmigration to urban centres has made heavy traffic, the development of smaller urban areas would help reduce the overpopulation in urban centres. Education for people that believe the myth will also help reduce overpulation. This because people won’t have lots of children just to achieve more luck.

In conclusion, the rural-urban migration and the myth of children bring more luck to their parents have become the causes of overpopulation. However, this issue can be mitigated by development of smaller urban areas by the governments and education for people that believe the myth. With proper planning and education, governments can ensure sustainable growth on smaller urban areas.