Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Crowding of people in many sizeable cities worldwide is a major problem. This is mainly because the quality of life and availability of workplaces is more accessible in urban centers. The most viable solutions would be improving the life in small towns and villages and making transportation to big cities more available.

One cause of overpopulation in metropolises is the higher standard of the living. People have better access to schools, hospitals, shopping centers without having to take longer trips. In addition, existing public facilities in towns and villages do not provide the same quality found in urban areas. Another reason why cities are overpopulated is due to people having and easier time finding workplaces. Usually, major cities not only offer a wider variety of professions and careers but also provide higher paying jobs. For example, an IT worker in town employed by a minor company will earn less than an employee working in a city.

One way this problem can be addressed is by enhancing the lifestyle in smaller towns and villages. This can be done by constructing more residential and public facilities. The construction of new universities and health centers will a encourage people to stay since there will be more workplaces for people with various professions. Another solution to the issue is the improvement of transportations from the villages and towns to urban centers. People who stay in the big cities for work related reasons will have the opportunity to travel from their hometown to there with more efficiency. For instance, a researcher who works in the labs of the main city will face fewer difficulties in commuting.

In conclusion, improving the standard of the living in small towns and villages and the development of transportations infrastructure are both effective solutions to the problem.