Parents should take courses in parenting in order to improve the lives of their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is of the opinion of some individuals that parents ought to undertake parenting classes to guarantee their offsprings’ good development. Despite the fact that I agree to the benefits of these types of courses, I oppose to the idea that those should be mandatory.

On the one hand, there are several advantages for attending parenting courses. First and foremost, those kinds of classes provide mothers and fathers with in-depth knowledge about how to nurture children at different developmental stages. Parents who decide to participate in parenting classes will be likely to have a firmer grasp of their children’s needs, which can assist them in taking the best care of their offsprings. Secondly, parents being engaged in parenting courses are equipped with basic medical training to tackle emergencies more efficiently. For instance, first aid training teaches parents what to do when their children have a terrible fever or a breathing issue.

On the other hand, I suppose parenting classes should not be made compulsory due to a host of reasons. To begin with, because a lot of parents have to work overtime to make ends meet, forcing them to attend those courses may have an adverse effect on their work and daily life. Consequently, I believe parents should be free to decide whether they want to take up those classes or not. Moreover, this is an innate skill that fathers and mothers possess naturally once their child is born; therefore, parenting classes should not necessarily be required for every parent. For example, a number of mothers instinctively know how to hold and look after their newborns the moment they come to this world.

In a nutshell, regardless of the merits parenting courses bring about, I believe they should remain optional rather than obligatory.