People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are some problems with this increased consumption habit? What are some possible solutions to make people drink less sugar-based drinks? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or personal experience.

As society moves forward in leaps and bounds, human diets also undergo significant changes. However, there is one matter that is usually up for discussion that is the overconsumption of sugar-based drinks. Although, this trend can result in many health complications, there are still ways to counteract the consequences or mitigate them.

Several problems can be anticipated when delving deeper into this trend of consuming sugary drinks in large quantity, namely cardiovascular diseases if left unchecked. Sugar-based drinks are generally very dense in calorie and are usually accompanied with fast food which is arguably the most calorically dense food. This is tandem with the fact that fizzy drinks are not a very satiating source of calorie makes for a cardiovascularly devastating combo that could really be harmful in the long run. Another problem that comes to mind is how soft drinks consumption will likely cause obesity due to how sugary they are. Since the human body is hardwired to prefer foods that are high in calorie in order to survive in prehistoric era when energy is scarce, this can easily backfire in modern days when people are practically overfed. Ultimately, said characteristic makes prolonged exposure to sugary drinks the number one reason for obesity.

On the other hand, there are still several solutions that can help alleviate this dietary problem to a certain extent. First and foremost, it is immediately obvious that everyone should exercise regularly. The idea behind this is that exercising can help heighten heart-rate which will increase metabolism and helps burn off excess calorie as well as improve cardiovascular health by acclimating the body with physically demanding activities. Another solution that comes to mind is eating more satiating food. By making the food choice more filling, it will make people feel the urge of stopping their meal sooner which will prevent them from eating in a caloric surplus unknowingly. This will do a very good job in counteracting the human instinct of wanting to consume more energy because it makes the subject feel fuller than they truly are while still keeping their consumption low.

Taking everything into account, the trend of increasing the consumption of sugar-based can have many side-effects. But there are ways to mitigate those consequences or even circumvent them, mainly through exercising and dieting optimally.