People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

Nowadays people consume more food that has been prepared rather than people who lived before. As a result of the acceleration of consumption with technological developments can lead to rapid obesity.

With the advancement of manufacturing processed food, consumerism rose rapidly. Due to supply demand, people who have a lack of time to prepare food, people prefer to buy processed food. Back in the day, people are not working much and that is why they can spend their time cooking. For instance, my mom was not enable to work so she could cook meals for us without stressing. However, as she is currently working, she prefers to buy ready-made food instead of cooking.

As a result of unhealthy ready-to-eat food, a lot of various diseases have emerged. Manufacturers did not care about the products they produced, they only cared about the money they would receive. Because of the addictive substances they added to their ingredients, people ate them over and over again, eventually leading to obesity. Especially American citizens prefer to cut corners and feed unhealthy processed foods even to their children, resulting not only in obesity but also in many diseases such as diabetes, tooth decay, and vitamin and mineral deficiencies.

In conclusion, in the past people used to have more time to cook and not opt for processed food. Due to overtime work they consume prepared food, causing some health problems.